The area has been inhabited by indigenous people for over 10,000 years. Reading’s contemporary history dates to the Massachusetts Bay Colony when it was founded in 1644 after separating from Lynn. By 1667, the community, including what is now known as Reading, Wakefield, and North Reading, boasted 59 houses. A garrison house was built against Indian attacks in 1671. In 1686, the settlers bought the land from the Saugus Indians.
The Daniel Putnam House, built in 1720, was the home of the town’s first minister, leading the parishioners of what would eventually become the Union Congregational Church. The house today retains many of its original features and is the home to the North Reading Historical and Antiquarian Society who open it occasionally for tours.
The Society also oversees the Bow Street property adjacent to the Putnam House featuring several historic buildings. They maintain the Damon Tavern, built in 1817 for the benefit of Revolutionary War veteran Captain David Damon. The ballroom added in the 1820s features rare hand-painted murals by itinerant artist Rufus Porter.
North Reading was settled in the 17th century and officially incorporated in 1853. Originally an agricultural community, it grew some limited manufacturing capability with sawmills, blacksmiths shops, shoemaking and a wagon factory. Today, it maintains a charming blend of historical buildings and modern development, preserving its small-town feel while growing as a suburban destination. It is the headquarters for Amazon Robotics and Teradyne, and hosts the USPS Middlesex – Essex Processing and Distribution System.